top of page

Young Writer Series {Part Five} - Interview w/ Anna Rose Johnson


Photo credit to Daniel Johnson

Welcome young writers! For part five of of the Young Writer's Series, I had the honor of doing an interview with Anna Rose Johnson, author of The Star that Always Stays! I reviewed her book recently, and I'm so thrilled to be able to ask her some questions that I hope are helpful to all you young writers as well! I hope you enjoy the last post in the Young Writer's Series!

THE STAR THAT ALWAYS STAYS:

1) What / who inspired you to write The Star that Always Stays?

I got the idea when I was doing genealogy research, and I realized that my great-grandmother’s childhood might make an interesting middle grade novel.

2) How difficult was it to write about your family history?

It was difficult at times to strike just the right balance between preserving the facts and making alterations for the good of the story, but in the end, I’m

very happy with how it turned out!


3) What challenges did you face while writing The Star that Always Stays?

Pushing through early rejections was definitely challenging, as was working on the beginning, since it was difficult to decide where to start the story. I rewrote the opening many, many times before I got it right!


4) What were your hopes when you first published The Star that Always Stays?

My hope was that it would appeal to fans of the same old-fashioned stories that I love, and I’ve heard many readers say that this was the case for them, so I’m delighted.


5) What type of research went into the story of Norvia and her family?

SO much research went into the making of this book! I researched in old newspapers and magazines and on genealogical websites, and I asked relatives to share their stories and memories. I also learned about the fascinating places where Norvia lived and tracked down elusive information about her high school years.

WRITING (AS A YOUNG PERSON):

1) How old were you when you first began writing?

I can’t quite remember when I started writing stories; it was just something I always did. By the time I was seven, I knew I wanted to be an author, and I finished my first (very short) middle grade novel at age twelve.


2) Who had the biggest influence on your writing as a young person?

Many family members encouraged me a lot in my early writing, and the novels of Noel Streatfeild were a big influence as well!


3) What are your favorite authors now and as a young person?

Noel Streatfeild is still one of my very favorites, and I also love books by L.M. Montgomery, Maud Hart Lovelace, and so many others. They were childhood favorites and adulthood favorites! I’m also very fond of books by Louisa May Alcott (who I discovered as an adult), Elizabeth Enright, Eleanor Porter, Jeanne Birdsall, Jean Little, and Beverly Cleary.


4) What genre of writing did you enjoy the most?

I love writing historical middle grade! That’s my ultimate favorite.


5) What book character would you compare yourself most to?

Probably Anna Solden in Jean Little’s From Anna (we have a lot of similarities!) and Batty Penderwick in the Penderwicks series.


6) What advice would you give to an aspiring young writer?

My absolute biggest advice would be to persevere through as many edit rounds as it takes to make the book perfect, and to try to trust God’s timing throughout the process.


7) How do you overcome common problems like writer’s block, a writing slump, and staying motivated?

I try to get creative! I print out photos and make aesthetic scrapbooks, I look at inspirational magazines, I do historical research, and I try to write something totally for myself with no particular goal in mind.


8) Is there a program / resource that you would suggest to a beginner writer who is looking for some guidance and direction?

I really learned a lot from the Young Writers’ Workshop when I was first starting to query agents, and as a younger writer I really liked the books Live Writing and A Writer’s Notebook by Ralph Fletcher and Writing Magic by Gail Carson Levine.


9) Can you give us any peeks into the future of your writing as an author - can we expect more books from you?

I hope so! I will be able to make an exciting announcement very soon.


YOU CAN FIND ANNA BELOW...


Thank you SO much Anna for taking the time to do this interview with me, I really enjoyed reading your answers and learning a little more about your book and writing life! Thanks again Anna!

Did you enjoy this post? If so, comment below and share your thoughts, I'd love to hear from you! :)

I'll see you all next post! Farewell! <3


~ Did YOU enjoy Anna's book, The Start That Always Stays?

~ Were any of Anna's answers helpful to you?

~ What did you most enjoy about The Star that Always Stays?

Share below this post!


2 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page