top of page

My Musical Journey - A Short Post Sharing My Experience With Violin


Hello friends! I wanted to make a quick post for this week, so I had the idea to share a little about my musical journey! I mention in my about page that I play violin, but I've never really said more than that. So in today's post, you'll find out a little more about my journey with music, and how I ended up playing violin!


HOW IT BEGAN...

My musical journey began back in August of 2021, when I had a real desire to learn to play an instrument. I had always had a musical side to me, I mean, you could always find me singing, and when I was younger I had the opportunity to take piano lessons (my parents said that I caught on pretty quickly), but unfortunately, I stopped after a few months (ahhh, how I wish I'd stuck with it...). So fast forward about several years, and now it's 2021, and I'm itching to start learning an instrument. So I thought about it practically (finally! :), and came to the conclusion that a small instrument would be the best choice, because it's portable and not every house can fit a piano! :P So I finally decided on violin. I'd heard a number of stories of others who played the violin, and how hard it was to learn, but I was determined. So my parents and I talked about it (both hoped I'd actually stick with it! I guess I can't blame them!), and decided to rent a violin from a local music shop near us. I had the violin for multiple months, so I then started violin lessons! These were so great and I learned ALOT in just a few weeks. These continued for several months, and I continued to learned so much, from how to properly hold the violin, how to read music, and then getting into harder concepts like slurs and sixteenth notes! I also was blessed enough to have been offered a violin from this teacher! She actually knew a violin-maker, and I was given a beautiful violin, which was SO generous! Well, a few months later I decided to switch teachers (for personal reasons) and now I'm with a wonderful teacher, who has much violin experience (very helpful!) and I'm again learning what I need to know! Now you might think that my goal is to be a world-renowned violinist, but really, all I want to do is play in my church's orchestra! I'd love to play hymns and gospel music, because that's what I enjoyed playing at home! So there is my musical journey!


I hope you enjoyed reading a little about my 'music life' and I'll see you next post! Sending best wishes to you all! <3


0 comments
bottom of page