top of page

Happy Green Ember Day! A Collaboration Post w/ Erin @ Story of a Christian Girl ~ July 25th, 2022


Hello! Happy Green Ember Day! I'm so excited to be doing this post with Erin @ Story of a Christian Girl! Erin is the very talented blogger who enjoys reading The Green Ember book series as much as I do! So I decided to contact her and see if she wanted to do a post together, and, as you can see, she agreed! Last year, Erin did her own post on Green Ember Day, where she did a fun DIY craft, so make sure to go check that post out as well!


Now, I asked Erin to share a little about herself and her blog before we begin, so I hope this helps you get to know her a little better!


~ ABOUT ERIN AND STORY OF A CHRISTIAN GIRL ~


"Hi! I'm Erin, the blogger behind Story of a Christian Girl. I'm a homeschooled teenager who can always be found pursuing one of my hobbies or interests. I started this blog a year and a half ago, and I love posting about my life. On my blog, you will find posts about music, cooking, books, words of encouragement, and other faith-filled content. I love to talk to my fellow Christian bloggers, and I hope that you enjoy my blog!"


~ THE QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS ~


What is The Green Ember’s synopsis?

Heather and Picket are extraordinary rabbits with ordinary lives until calamitous events overtake them, spilling them into a cauldron of misadventures. They discover that their own story is bound up in the tumult threatening to overwhelm the wider world.

Kings fall and kingdoms totter. Tyrants ascend and terrors threaten. Betrayal beckons, and loyalty is a broken road with peril around every bend.

Where will Heather and Picket land? How will they make their stand?


Who wrote the Green Ember series?

S.D. Smith is the Christian author of the bestselling middle-grade fantasy series The Green Ember. These books have reached hundreds of thousands of readers. He lives with his wife and four kids in West Virginia, writing adventure tales in his writing shed. As a child, he loved playing sports (i.e. basketball, baseball, cricket, rugby) and reading books (i.e. Narnia, Boxcar Children, Little Women) There are currently ten books in the Green Ember series.


What’s your favorite Green Ember book?

Rosie: I really enjoyed the third book, Ember Rising, because, well, I can’t tell you! :) You’ll just have to read it for yourself and find out! But personally, I thought this book was very exciting and kind of wraps up a lot of cliff-hangers from the previous two books.

Erin: I personally enjoy the first Green Ember book, originally published in 2014. I really enjoy this story, and I think it’s a very moving fantasy story. While I love all four of the main series, and I do like the spin-offs, the first is the one that I like best. I think it tells an incredible story, and I really like to read that one.


Who’s your favorite Green Ember character?

Rosie: I actually have two, the twins, Coleden and Heyna Blackstar. I really like their characters in all the Green Ember books, because I love how loyal they both are to protect their friends.

Erin: Smalls! Smalls is my absolute favorite Green Ember character. I think that he’s amazingly written, and I wish that I could say more about him, but I don’t want to because of spoilers… but if you’ve read the series, you know why I like him so much.


Have you listened to the Green Ember audiobook?

Rosie: Yes! I finished it a few weeks ago, and I really enjoyed it! I loved the narration by Joel Clarkson, and it was very exciting! Definitely recommended!

Erin: Yes! I read three of the four books on audiobook, and I loved them all. Joel Clarkson’s narration is brilliant, and I loved hearing the stories that I had already enjoyed reading so much. I definitely recommend reading them, and I believe that the first is available for free, if you go to S.D. Smith’s site.


Where did you first hear about The Green Ember?

Rosie: I was recommended these by a family member, so I had it on my book TBR (to be read) list for quite a while, and I finally decided to try it! I'm so glad I did! :)

Erin: My older brother recommended this series, and I was so glad that I got to them, because I still enjoy them years later.


What is your favorite time of year to read the Green Ember books?

Rosie: Anytime! I don’t usually find that books are better when read at certain times of the year (there are, of course, a few exceptions!), so with the Green Ember books as well, anytime! But if I did choose a season, I would agree with Erin on autumn! Although, I prefer hot chocolate instead of tea, but also with a good book… :)

Erin: This is my autumn series. I love reading these stories when the days get colder. Drinking a hot cup of tea and reading Green Ember… that’s pretty great. Yeah, I like hot chocolate, too, but tea is my go-to.


What series would you most compare the Green Ember to?

Rosie: I haven’t read very many books with animals as the main characters instead of people, but from what I’ve heard, I think the Green Ember books sound similar to the Redwall series by Brian Jacques. Also, like Erin said, it is comparable to the Narnia series as well.

Erin: I’ve read a few books about rabbits, like Rabbit Hill by Robert Lawson and some other books like that, but these books definitely have a Narnian feel to them, which is one of my favorite book series.


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


~ WRITERS NOTES ~


Erin: Thank you for reaching out to me about doing this post, Rosie. I’ve really enjoyed talking about these great books, and doing a collaboration post with you. Thanks for doing this with me. I hope you had as much fun as I did.

Rosie: Absolutely! I'm so glad we were able to do this! I really appreciate your willingness to take time from your day to work on this with me! I had a lot of fun! <3


~ CONCLUSION ~


Well, that's all for today, I hope you all enjoyed reading this collab, and let me know in the comments YOUR thoughts on The Green Ember series! If you'd like to download The Green Ember audiobook for FREE, here is the link! Also, make sure to head over to Erin's awesome blog and subscribe! https://storyofachristiangirl.wordpress.com/



P.S - Again, I'm really sorry all you subscribers who aren't getting emails lately... I've done some research, and a lot of other people are having this same problem on Wix, so I'm hoping to reach out to Wix support soon to ask for some help. Thank you for your patience! :)


~EXCITING NEWS! YOU CAN NOW SUBSCRIBE TO MY MONTHLY NEWSLETTER! JUST CLICK HERE, OR VISIT MY MONTHLY NEWSLETTER PAGE! ~

4 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page