top of page

"A Golden Wedding" ~ A Short Story


Hello my friends! By very minimal request, I'm finally sharing a snippet of my writing here on the blog! A few months ago, I was assigned to write a short story for a class, and so "A Golden Wedding" was born! I'm excited to be sharing this with you, and I hope you'll enjoy reading it! Read on, fellow writer!

"A Golden Wedding"

I woke up to the small gold ring on my dresser next to me. It shined in the early morning sun, like a small sparkle on the wide ocean. I sighed happily. Only three more days, I thought excitedly. Only three more days, and then I’ll be Mrs. Alice Rose Malone. My dream wedding was to happen in only three days, and the butterflies in my stomach wouldn’t stop fluttering. Humming, I made my way to the desk in the corner of my bedroom and began brushing my long, unruly hair. I thought about the past few days, still a busy blur in my mind – people rushing here and there, endless phone calls and last-minute wedding preparations. But now everything was planned just the way we wanted; we had a place for the wedding, I had my bridesmaids and Maid of Honor, my fiancé his groomsmen and Best Man, and the food was all planned and ready to be made. I wondered if he was feeling the same way I was - nervous. Probably not, I mused thoughtfully, he’s so practical and level-headed.

I pictured his face in my mind - his beautiful icy blue eyes, and bright smile. How lucky I felt!

My family had arrived yesterday from Washington to attend the rehearsal dinner and help in any way they could. But to be honest, their presence just made me more anxious. They were always asking how I was feeling, or if they could do anything for me, but what I really wanted was to be left alone to my own thoughts. I had a lot to think about; our future together, what my hopes for a home are, and where we would go for our honeymoon. We had discussed several honeymoon ideas; visiting Yellowstone Park, Washington D.C, or the Grand Canyon, but none of those seemed special enough. I wanted something that would draw us closer as a newlywed couple. I contemplated possible getaways. Hmm, I’ll have to think about that - and soon.

“ALICE, DEAR?” my mother called from downstairs; “WHERE DO YOU WANT THE BOUQUETS ON THE TABLES FOR THE RECEPTION? I HAD SOME IDEAS, BUT I WANTED YOUR THOUGHTS.”

I sighed, exhausted from the past couple days. Weren’t weddings supposed to be exhilarating? So far, all my wedding has been is tiring.

Whatever you think I’m sure will look lovely, mother,” I answered.

I heard hushed whispering below me,

“WELL, I THINK IT’D BE BEST IF YOU CAME DOWN ANYWAY, HONEY, IT’S NOT GOOD FOR YOU TO BE ALONE SO CLOSE TO YOUR WEDDING.”

My eyes slowly closed. This was going to be a long three days…

I felt jittery all over. Tomorrow was my wedding, and I couldn’t sit still for a minute. The past two days had been a scramble to get last-minute details finished so everything was perfect for tomorrow. Now everything was set, and everyone was taking a short break from the constant preparations that went into the past few days. I was back in my room, with my door shut. I snuggled up in my favorite chair and began reading a book. Minutes past into hours, and before I knew it, it was time for bed. But as I got up, a paragraph in the book I was holding caught my attention;

“For I know the plans I have for you, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future”.

As I got up, I suddenly knew that no matter how the wedding tomorrow went, everything would be perfect, as long as he and I were together through it. That was enough. I gently put the book away on my shelf, got into bed, and fell asleep looking at the small gold ring on my dresser…

THE END


What is your current WIP? Do you prefer writing short stories or novels? What is your favorite genre to write?

Thanks for stopping by, friends! Have a lovely day and week! I'll see you next time... so long! <3


“There is something delicious about writing the first words of a story. You never quite know where they'll take you." - Beatrix Potter

4 comments
bottom of page